Weingut Dorli Muhr

Cellar

MANUAL LABOUR & FOOTWORK

Precise & fresh: A wine should refresh and invigorate the connoisseur – this is what Dorli Muhr believes. Accordingly, during the entire vinification process careful attention is paid to retaining the unmistakeable finesse and grace of the Spitzerberg.

Maceration and fermentation take place primarily in open vats, just like they did in Grandmother’s time. In this way, each single parcel can be fermented individually – and because of the limited volumes, the temperature never climbs above 28°C. Spontaneous fermentation with the wild yeasts develops slowly, while the extraction of colour, tannins and aromatic material proceeds quite gently.

WHEN TRODDEN, THE GRAPES ARE QUITE GENTLY MACERATED
TREADING THE GRAPES TURNS INTO A PARTY

One further guarantee of the wines’ attractive freshness lies in the use of the stems. At least a quarter of every lot fermented consists of whole clusters, which will either be fermented together with the de-stemmed berries, or trodden by foot in a totally primitive fashion.

EVERY SINGLE BERRY MUST BE CRUSHED

The wines are then matured for some twenty months in wooden cask – in this, any use of barriques or new wood is scrupulously avoided. The wines mature in old casks of oak, and often in acacia – just like one hundred years ago.

And bottling is most often accomplished without any filtration.

Newsletter Signup

Contact Details
Language

Weingut Dorli Muhr

Keller

Hand- und Fussarbeit

Präzise und frisch: Ein Wein soll erfrischen und beleben, das ist das Credo von Dorli Muhr. Deswegen wird während des gesamten Prozesses des Weinmachens darauf geachtet, dass die unverwechselbare Finesse und Leichtfüßigkeit des Spitzerbergs bewahrt wird.

Die Mazeration und Vergärung erfolgt großteils in Bottichen, wie schon zu Zeiten der Großmutter. Auf diese Art kann jede Parzelle einzeln vergoren werden, und die Gärtemperatur steigt dank der kleinen Volumina niemals auf mehr als 28 Grad Celsius. Die spontane Gärung mit wilden Hefen entwickelt sich langsam, die Extraktion von Farbe, Tanninen und Aromen verläuft sanft.

Beim Stampfen werden die Trauben besonders sanft mazeriert
Das Traubenstampfen ist ein Fest

Ein weiterer Garant für anmutige Frische liegt in der Nutzung der Stiele. Mindestens ein Viertel jeder Gärmenge besteht aus ganzen Trauben, die entweder gemeinsam mit den entrappten Beeren vergären oder aber ganz archaisch mit den Füssen gestampft werden.

Jede einzelne Beere muss gequetscht werden

Die Weine reifen rund 20 Monate im Holzfass, wobei ganz bewusst auf den Einsatz von Barriques und neuem Holz verzichtet wird. Die Weine lagern in alten Fässern aus Eichenholz und oft auch aus Akazienholz. Ganz wie vor 100 Jahren.

Die Füllung der Weine erfolgt großteils ohne Filtration.

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Kontaktdaten
Sprache