Weingut Dorli Muhr

Family History

THE OLDEST FAMILY PHOTO: KATHARINA MUHR (SEATED, 2nd from RIGHT) WITH SIBLINGS & CHILDREN, 1930

Katharina Muhr (*1894) spent her childhood and teenage years in Prellenkirchen, where she was raised by her aunt Barbara. When Katharina, at eighteen years of age, returned to her home village of Rohrau in 1912 to start a family, her aunt gave her a vineyard parcel in the site Ried Roterd. Which measured .17 hectares.

KATHARINA MUHR (SEATED), 1912

For some sixty years, .17 hectares of grapevines in the Ried Roterd provided the emotional connexion of the Muhr family to Prellenkirchen. Cultivating the vines and picking the grapes, Grandmother Muhr met up again with the friends of her youth.

The harvest was an event that the entire family enjoyed, even if it was concluded in the matter of just a few hours. The wine from the tiny parcel filled four little casks, which over the years were drained with friends at the infamous ‘cellar parties’. As the vines of the old vineyard gradually died off, Franz Muhr rooted them up entirely and left the fields lying fallow.

Dorli Muhr – who discovered her enthusiasm for wine during university studies training as an interpreter (French & Spanish) – founded an agency for marketing and PR work in 1991 called Wine&Partners and developed a highly specialised business for communications involving wine, gourmet products and the culinary world.

The desire to have her own wine production – which burned in the blood of farmers’ daughter Dorli – led ultimately to her replanting the fallow parcels on the Spitzerberg in 1995. Together with her then-husband Dirk van der Niepoort, Dorli Muhr recommenced wine production in 2002. Seeking perfection and maximum finesse, she began to acquire other parcels of vines to complement the family patch, so that the Weingut Muhr-van der Niepoort grew continually each year, in both quantity and quality.

Ten years after Muhr and Niepoort ended their marriage, they finally concluded their business relationship. Dorli Muhr took over Dirk Niepoort’s holdings, and is carrying on with the estate under her name alone. At the same time, she was able to acquire a small, old house in Prellenkirchen and move her business headquarters there. Together with her daughter Anna, she is returning to the same village where Anna’s great-grandmother spent her childhood and teenage years.

Newsletter Signup

Contact Details
Language

Weingut Dorli Muhr

Familiengeschichte

Das älteste Familienfoto. Katharina Muhr (sitzend, zweite von rechts), mit Geschwistern und Kindern. 1930

Katharina Muhr (*1894) verbrachte ihre Kinder- und Jugendjahre in Prellenkirchen, wo sie von ihrer Tante Barbara großgezogen wurde. Als Katharina 1912 – im Alter von 18 Jahren – in ihren Heimatort Rohrau zurückkehrte, um eine Familie zu gründen, schenkte ihr die Tante ein Stück Weingarten auf der Ried Roterd. Es waren 0,17 Hektar.

Katharina Muhr (sitzend), 1912

0,17 Hektar Rebgarten auf der Ried Roterd waren gut sechzig Jahre lang die emotionale Bindung der Familie Muhr nach Prellenkirchen. Bei den Rebarbeiten und bei der Ernte traf die Großmutter wieder mit ihren Jugendfreunden zusammen. Später führten Sohn Franz und seine Frau Adelheid den kleinen Weingarten weiter.

Die Traubenernte war ein Anlass, auf den sich die ganze Familie freute, wenngleich sie in wenigen Stunden abgeschlossen war. Der Wein von der kleinen Parzelle füllte vier kleine Fässchen, die im Laufe des Jahres mit Freunden bei berüchtigten „Kellerpartien“ geleert wurden. Als die Reben des alten Weingartens schließlich nach und nach abstarben, rodete Franz Muhr sie ganz und führte die Parzelle als Brache weiter.

Dorli Muhr, die während ihres Dolmetschstudiums (Französisch/Spanisch) ihre Begeisterung für Wein entdeckte, gründete 1991 eine Agentur für Marketing und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit namens Wine&Partners und entwickelte damit ein hochspezialisiertes Unternehmen für Kommunikation rund um Wein, Genussprodukte und Kulinarik.

Die Sehnsucht nach eigener Produktion, die der Bauerntochter im Blut lag, führte schließlich dazu, dass sie die brachliegende Parzelle am Spitzerberg 1995 wieder auspflanzte. Gemeinsam mit ihrem damaligen Ehemann Dirk van der Niepoort begann Dorli Muhr im Jahr 2002 wieder mit der Weinproduktion. Auf der Suche nach Perfektion und maximaler Finesse, bemühte sich Dorli Muhr, neben dem familieneigenen Weingarten auch andere Parzellen zu erwerben, sodass das Weingut Muhr-van der Niepoort kontinuierlich wuchs und sich jedes Jahr quantitativ wie qualitativ steigerte.

Zehn Jahre nachdem die Ehe zwischen Muhr und Niepoort geschieden worden war, trennte man sich schließlich auch wirtschaftlich. Dorli Muhr übernahm die Anteile von Dirk Niepoort, und führt das Weingut seit 2019 unter ihrem Namen weiter. Gleichzeitig konnte sie ein kleines altes Haus in Prellenkirchen erwerben und den Unternehmenssitz dorthin verlegen. Gemeinsam mit Tochter Anna kehrte sie in jenes Dort zurück, in der Annas Urgrossmuter die Kinder- und Jugendjahre verbracht hat.

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Kontaktdaten
Sprache