Ried Spitzerberg 2017 Erste Lage

Site & soil

The Spitzerberg is an approximately 5km-long & 300-metre-high limestone bar in easternmost Carnuntum. It is situated, extremely exposed to the wind, between the Alps (Leitha Range) and the Carpathians (Hainburg Hills). Thanks to the constantly breaking surf of the primeval sea that once covered the area, a thick layer of limestone was deposited on the hillside, which eroded over time to the size of grains of sand.

Rainfall on the Spitzerberg amounts to only about 400mm per year, and the summer temperatures often reach 35–40°C. The sandy limestone soil can only store precious little water. This leads to very low yields at harvest, a maximum of 3000kg of grapes per hectare.

Blaufränkisch is the traditional grape variety on the Spitzerberg. This vine has no problems with the extremely hot summer, when no precipitation is expected. In any case, the Blaufränkisch postpones physiologic maturity until autumn – and not until late September does it gradually develop its charming notes of red berries, violets and slightly spicy aromaticity. Arid conditions here on the Spitzerberg also cause the grapes to produce only moderate levels of sugar (and thus moderate alcohol in the wine). Furthermore, the Blaufränkisch always retains its typical acidity, which guarantees gradual development & long life.

Blaufränkisch grapes from the oldest vineyards are selected for the estate’s top wine: a parcel in Ried Spitzer planted in 1955, a parcel in Ried Roterd (planted in 1985) and a parcel in Panhölzern (1985). Each year, these old vines produce the most elegant & refined wines, with fresh acidity, precise aromas and great potential for aging.

Harvest & vinification

The clusters are harvested by hand, and any overripe berry is painstakingly removed.

In the cellar, the grapes are lightly crushed and macerated partly with the stems in open fermentation vats. This extraction is very gentle and occurs completely without pumping. Clusters from Ried Roterd are trodden by foot every year. Fermentation begins after a few days thanks to the wild yeasts. This spontaneous fermentation proceeds very slowly and at room temperature; the must is neither heated nor cooled. This guarantees wines that are very precise and very aromatic. After some twenty days, the wine is pressed and then matured in 1000-litre wooden casks; no new wood is utilised, in order to avoid masking the pristine fruit of the Blaufränkisch. During the approximately twenty months of maturation, the wine is racked only once and ultimately bottled without filtration.

Vintage 2017

2017 was an extremely hot and dry summer, but the old vines were even less affected by the escapades of the heat this year than the younger plants. Of course, one notices in the wine that it comes from a hot vintage; nevertheless yet it shows refined freshness, fruit-forward flavours & flawless elegance.

Download

Further Vintages:

2018 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010
Print
  • Varities Blaufränkisch 100%
  • Alcohol 13%
  • Residual Sugar 1g
  • Tartaric Acid 5g
  • Bottles 2900 / 0,75l und 180 / 1,5l

Ratings

  • Gault&Millau 18,5
  • Falstaff 95
  • Wine Enthusiast 96
  • Jancis Robinson 17,5
  • Wine Spectator 94
  • Genussmagazin *****
  • A La Carte 96
  • wein.plus 92
Per Bottle 0,75 / 1,5 (Price in €) To the Shop

Further Vintages:

2018 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

Weingut Dorli Muhr

Ried Spitzerberg 2017 Erste Lage

Lage und Boden

Der Spitzerberg ist ein etwa 5km langer und 300 Meter hoher Kalkriegel ganz im Osten von Carnuntum. Er liegt in der extrem windexponierten Ebene zwischen Alpen (Leithagebirge) und Karpaten (Hainburger Berge). Durch die Anbrandung des Urmeeres wurde eine dicke Schichte an Kalkstein auf dem Hang abgelagert, der im Laufe der Zeit zu Sandkorngröße erodierte.

Die Niederschlagsmenge beträgt am Spitzerberg nur etwa 400 mm jährlich, und die Sommertemperaturen erreichen oft zwischen 35 und 40 Grad. Der sandige Kalkboden kann nur sehr wenig Wasser speichern. Dies führt zu sehr geringen Ernteerträgen von maximal 3000 kg Trauben pro Hektar.

Blaufränkisch ist die traditionelle Sorte auf dem Spitzerberg. Diese Sorte hat keine Probleme mit der extrem heißen Sommerphase, in der keine Niederschläge zu erwarten sind. Der Blaufränkisch wartet ohnehin mit der physiologischen Reife bis in den Herbst hinein und entwickelt erst Ende September langsam seine charmanten Noten von roten Beeren, Veilchen und eine leicht würzige Aromatik. Die Trockenheit führt überdies dazu, dass die Trauben moderat Zucker produzieren. Weiters behält der Blaufränkisch stets seine typische Säurestruktur, die den Garant für eine langsame Entwicklung und ein langes Leben darstellt.

Für den Topwein des Weingutes werden Blaufränkisch-Trauben aus den ältesten Weinbergen selektioniert. Es ist eine Parzelle in der Lage Spitzer, die 1955 gepflanzt wurde, eine Parzelle in der Lage Roterd (gepflanzt 1985) und eine Parzelle auf den Panhölzern (ausgepflanzt 1985). Diese alten Reben ergeben jedes Jahr die elegantesten und feinsten Weine mit frischer Säure, präziser Aromatik und hohem Reifepotential.

Ernte und Ausbau

Die Trauben werden von Hand geerntet, und jede überreife Beere wird feinsäuberlich entfernt. Im Keller werden die Trauben leicht gequetscht und teils mit den Stielen in offenen Gärbottichen mazeriert. Diese Auslaugung ist sehr sanft und verläuft völlig ohne Pumpen. Die Trauben der Lage Roterd werden jedes Jahr mit den Füssen gestampft. Die Gärung setzt nach einigen Tagen dank wilder Hefen ein. Die spontane Gärung verläuft sehr langsam und bei Raumtemperatur, die Maische wird weder erhitzt noch gekühlt. Dies garantiert sehr präzise und aromatische Weine. Nach etwa 20 Tagen wird der Wein abgepresst und reift anschließend in 1000 Liter Holzfässern, wobei wir kein neues Holz verwenden, um die feine Frucht des Blaufränkisch nicht zu überdecken.  Während der rund 20monatigen Reifung wird der Wein nur einmal umgezogen und schließlich ohne Filtration gefüllt.

Jahrgang 2017

2017 war ein extrem heißer und trockener Sommer, wobei die alten Reben sogar die Hitzeeskapaden dieses Jahrgangs weniger beeindruckten als jüngere Anlagen. Der Wein ist vollmundig, hat komplexe Aromen und viel Dichte. Beeindruckend ist die feine Frische und die perfekte Eleganz, die der Spitzerberg trotz der heissen und trockenen Bedingungen hervorbringt.

Downloaden

Weitere Jahrgänge:

2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010
Drucken
  • Sorten Blaufränkisch 100%
  • Alkohol 13%
  • Restzucker 1g
  • Säure 5g
  • Flaschen 2900 / 0,75l und 180 / 1,5l
Je Flasche 0,75 / 1,5 (Preis in €) Zum Shop

Weitere Jahrgänge:

2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Kontaktdaten
Sprache